Friday, February 18, 2011


Isn't she gorgeous???

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Book Giveaway!!!

There's a new giveaway over on the Undercover Book Lovers blog! So head on over to enter for a chance to win Halo, Nightshade, The Eternal Ones, Pegasus, and Parnormalcy! I entered, too, and I hope I win! Plus, you're getting five packs of gum, too, and who doesn't love gum?

Friday, June 25, 2010

Forbidden Sea ARC Giveaway!!!

I have been waiting for this book since I first heard about it through! If you're interested in winning a copy before the book splashes onto bookshelves in less than a week (July 1st, to be exact), swim on over to Sheila A. Nielson's blog:

I'm going to enter this contest, too, and if you post this contest on your blog, you'll be entered into the giveaway twice! It's open internationally, too, so what are you waiting for? Head on over to Ms. Nielson's blog and sign up!

Friday, June 11, 2010

I've Been Splashed!

I am happy to announce that I am an official member of Tera Lynn Child's Splash Team! Childs is the author of this summer's mermaid "tail" Forgive My Fins and next summer's sequel, Fins Are Forever. Being part of the Splash Team means that I get to promote the books and make sure the Forgive My Fins series lives for many more mermaid books to come from. More mermaid books? Life I could ever refuse that! I'll post the review of the first book sometime on this blog, because it's in my stack of mermaid books to read. So, if you're a mermaid fan, or you're looking for the perfect summer read, look no further than Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs!

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Book Review #5: Sea Switch by Linda Joy Singleton

Cassie's family is on a beach clean-up expedition in Oregon when Cassie discovers a real mermaid named Galena. But something fishy is going on - Galena magically tricks Cassie into switching bodies, and Cassie is thrown in an undersea jail for all of Galena's crimes. If Cassie can't convince Galena's friends to help her switch back, Cassie may be stuck as a convicted mermaid for the rest of her life!
This was a cute, enjoyable read, and I finished it in about a day, I think. It had short chapters, with not a lot of text on each page. The book isn't as long as it may appear to be. There's at least twenty pages of a sneak-peek at the author's next book, so that takes away from the story itself. Also, this is part of a series, the Strange Encounters series, to be exact, but the events of the previous two books are explained in this one, so you won't get too lost, I hope. I have not read the other two, and will not read them either, because I only read this one since it was about a mermaid. The book was okay, I guess, but I wouldn't say it's the best mermaid book out there. It did have a unique take on the mermaid situation in this story. Body-switching stories are always humorous, and this one was no exception. The funniest part had to be when the mermaid switched bodies with a merman. I just thought that part was silly and unusual, and I thought it was pretty funny.
I gave this book 4 out of 5 seashells. While I did enjoy it, I noticed that this was the last book in the series, but it really left the reader on a massive cliffhanger. If I were to imagine myself as a fan of this series, I would think the ending was completely unneeded if this was going to be the final book. No book in a series can have an ending like that without there being another book.
Overall, Sea Switch was a different take on the mermaid story, and whether you're a fan of the Strange Encounters series, or just a lover of mermaids, I think you're going to like this book.

Are Mermaids The New Vampires?

This post isn't book review-related, but it's a question I'd like to know. Are mermaids coming back? I am aware of the vampire phenomenon, and I have my own fairly large collection of vampire books and movies, but what comes next? Werewolves and/or shape-shifters took over for a short time, and then it was faeries, ghosts, and angels. Now, here comes the mermaids! Here's a list of mermaid books I have found that were just released or about to splash onto the bookshelves soon:

Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs (own this book; will read it soon and review it!)

Fins Are Forever by Tera Lynn Childs (sequel to Forgive My Fins; released summer 2011)

The Forbidden Sea by Sheila A. Nielson (released July 1st, 2010)

The Mermaid's Mirror by L.K. Madigan (released October 4th, 2010)

Siren by Tricia Rayburn (released July 13, 2010)

Siren's Call and Siren's Surrender by Devyn Quinn (adult paranormal romance; first book to be released August 3, 2010)

Real Mermaids Don't Wear Toe Rings by Helene Boudreau (released December 1, 2010; would make a great Christmas present for your little mermaid or yourself!)

Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon (retelling of "The Little Mermaid;" released March 1, 2011)

Correction: TWO MERMAID BOOKS In The Mail Today!

I was confused when a UPS man unexpectedly showed up at my house! He'd brought me something that really made my day - my ARC of The Mermaid's Mirror by L.K. Madigan, when only an hour ago my copy of Mermaid Curse: The Silver Dolphin showed up in my mailbox! I have been wanting to read this book sooo badly, and I will review the book as soon as I finish it! The cover is so beautiful, too! I've already given the description of this book on an older post, so you can check that out to see what this book is about. Wow! I'm so excited! Now I'm getting off here to dive into this book I have eagerly anticipated! Wow - two mermaid books in one day! I wish every day was like that!