Saturday, July 24, 2010

Book Giveaway!!!

There's a new giveaway over on the Undercover Book Lovers blog! So head on over to enter for a chance to win Halo, Nightshade, The Eternal Ones, Pegasus, and Parnormalcy! I entered, too, and I hope I win! Plus, you're getting five packs of gum, too, and who doesn't love gum?

Friday, June 25, 2010

Forbidden Sea ARC Giveaway!!!

I have been waiting for this book since I first heard about it through! If you're interested in winning a copy before the book splashes onto bookshelves in less than a week (July 1st, to be exact), swim on over to Sheila A. Nielson's blog:

I'm going to enter this contest, too, and if you post this contest on your blog, you'll be entered into the giveaway twice! It's open internationally, too, so what are you waiting for? Head on over to Ms. Nielson's blog and sign up!

Friday, June 11, 2010

I've Been Splashed!

I am happy to announce that I am an official member of Tera Lynn Child's Splash Team! Childs is the author of this summer's mermaid "tail" Forgive My Fins and next summer's sequel, Fins Are Forever. Being part of the Splash Team means that I get to promote the books and make sure the Forgive My Fins series lives for many more mermaid books to come from. More mermaid books? Life I could ever refuse that! I'll post the review of the first book sometime on this blog, because it's in my stack of mermaid books to read. So, if you're a mermaid fan, or you're looking for the perfect summer read, look no further than Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs!

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Book Review #5: Sea Switch by Linda Joy Singleton

Cassie's family is on a beach clean-up expedition in Oregon when Cassie discovers a real mermaid named Galena. But something fishy is going on - Galena magically tricks Cassie into switching bodies, and Cassie is thrown in an undersea jail for all of Galena's crimes. If Cassie can't convince Galena's friends to help her switch back, Cassie may be stuck as a convicted mermaid for the rest of her life!
This was a cute, enjoyable read, and I finished it in about a day, I think. It had short chapters, with not a lot of text on each page. The book isn't as long as it may appear to be. There's at least twenty pages of a sneak-peek at the author's next book, so that takes away from the story itself. Also, this is part of a series, the Strange Encounters series, to be exact, but the events of the previous two books are explained in this one, so you won't get too lost, I hope. I have not read the other two, and will not read them either, because I only read this one since it was about a mermaid. The book was okay, I guess, but I wouldn't say it's the best mermaid book out there. It did have a unique take on the mermaid situation in this story. Body-switching stories are always humorous, and this one was no exception. The funniest part had to be when the mermaid switched bodies with a merman. I just thought that part was silly and unusual, and I thought it was pretty funny.
I gave this book 4 out of 5 seashells. While I did enjoy it, I noticed that this was the last book in the series, but it really left the reader on a massive cliffhanger. If I were to imagine myself as a fan of this series, I would think the ending was completely unneeded if this was going to be the final book. No book in a series can have an ending like that without there being another book.
Overall, Sea Switch was a different take on the mermaid story, and whether you're a fan of the Strange Encounters series, or just a lover of mermaids, I think you're going to like this book.

Are Mermaids The New Vampires?

This post isn't book review-related, but it's a question I'd like to know. Are mermaids coming back? I am aware of the vampire phenomenon, and I have my own fairly large collection of vampire books and movies, but what comes next? Werewolves and/or shape-shifters took over for a short time, and then it was faeries, ghosts, and angels. Now, here comes the mermaids! Here's a list of mermaid books I have found that were just released or about to splash onto the bookshelves soon:

Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs (own this book; will read it soon and review it!)

Fins Are Forever by Tera Lynn Childs (sequel to Forgive My Fins; released summer 2011)

The Forbidden Sea by Sheila A. Nielson (released July 1st, 2010)

The Mermaid's Mirror by L.K. Madigan (released October 4th, 2010)

Siren by Tricia Rayburn (released July 13, 2010)

Siren's Call and Siren's Surrender by Devyn Quinn (adult paranormal romance; first book to be released August 3, 2010)

Real Mermaids Don't Wear Toe Rings by Helene Boudreau (released December 1, 2010; would make a great Christmas present for your little mermaid or yourself!)

Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon (retelling of "The Little Mermaid;" released March 1, 2011)

Correction: TWO MERMAID BOOKS In The Mail Today!

I was confused when a UPS man unexpectedly showed up at my house! He'd brought me something that really made my day - my ARC of The Mermaid's Mirror by L.K. Madigan, when only an hour ago my copy of Mermaid Curse: The Silver Dolphin showed up in my mailbox! I have been wanting to read this book sooo badly, and I will review the book as soon as I finish it! The cover is so beautiful, too! I've already given the description of this book on an older post, so you can check that out to see what this book is about. Wow! I'm so excited! Now I'm getting off here to dive into this book I have eagerly anticipated! Wow - two mermaid books in one day! I wish every day was like that!


Guess what came today? My new book! The title of it is Mermaid Curse: The Silver Dolphin by Louise Cooper. It's only available in the UK and Canada, so if you're a USA resident, and this looks like the book for you, get on and buy it! Here's the description on the back cover of the book:

Lizzy Baxter is thrilled when her family moves to Cornwall - she's always loved the beach. Lizzy doesn't realize, but she has a special connection with the sea - and the mystical mermaids and silver dolphins who swim there.

But there's much more to the beautiful blue-green world than magic. The evil mermaid Queen is plotting to steal something precious - something that belongs to Lizzy...

I cannot wait to read this book, and I'll post the review of it up on my blog once I'm done! It's a 4-part series of books, and I hope to order all of them from Amazon and read them all!

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Book Review #5: Fish Out Of Water by MaryJanice Davidson

Fred the mermaid has taken the bait and chosen Artur, High Prince of the Black Sea, over human marine biologist Thomas. And just in time. The existence of the Undersea Folk is no longer a secret, and someone needs to keep them from floundering in the media spotlight. Fred has all the right skills for the job, but not for when her real father surfaces and his presence complicates matters even more.

As civil war threatens to sink the merfolk, Fred can't stop thinking about the landlubber she left behind...

Fish Out Of Water was A LOT better than the previous book, Swimming Without A Net. In this one, the mystery of Fred's biological father is finally solved, but he might not be as warm and caring about Fred as he first appears...
I gave this book 3 1/2 seashells out of 5. I read this novel in about a day, because it's very short, and the font size and word count for each page is very minimal. Like the second book, there was almost thirty pages of quotes, acknowledgments, author notes, a 3-sentence long prologue, and title pages galore!
Personally, I don't think it would be too hard to come up with ideas for a mermaid book. Since there's hardly any out there, you can practically write whatever you want! (I have written a few myself, a time or two.) Why the Fred the Mermaid series is lacking in plot is a mystery to me. That being said, I wish this wasn't the last book, because the series could have eventually started to get better. The reason I gave this book an extra 1/2 seashell that Swimming Without A Net didn't get was because of the climax of this book. There was actually some intense action going on there! Plus, the book has to be given props for such a beautiful cover!
So, there's my review for the third and final book of the Fred the Mermaid Trilogy. Fish Out Of Water may be better than the previous novel, but it still has its own problems.

Book Review #4: Swimming Without A Net by MaryJanice Davidson

It's not normal for a mermaid to hate being out in open water, but Fred never claimed to be normal. To visit the undersea realm of Artur, the High Prince, and the rest of the royal merfamily, she has to fin it to the Cayman Islands. Luckily, hunky marine biologist Thomas is along for the swim - in his custom-made underwater RV. He'll be able to explore where no "outlander" has gone before and give Fred a place to escape to when the Undersea Folk start getting on her nerves.
But as Fred tries to fit in with her own kind, she finds herself hooked on both Artur and Thomas, and caught between two factions of merfolk: those happy with swimming under the radar - and those who want to bring their existence to the surface...
The cover of this book caught my eye from its place on the shelf, and after weeks of contemplating, I decided to pick it up and read it. I'd heard of the first book in the Fred the Mermaid Trilogy, Sleeping With The Fishes, but I had never gotten around to reading it. I probably won't read it, even though this book was...well, tolerable.
I gave this book 3 out of 5 seashells. Here's why. Okay, if this book hadn't been about a mermaid, I don't think I would have ever picked it up. It was okay, but it could have been waaay better. The novel was 304 pages, and most of that was made up because of the large font size, with few lines on each page, and almost twent-five pages of quotes, acknowlegments, title pages, and author notes. Basically, Swimming Without a Net is all fluff, no story. With only a few good descriptions of the mermaids, barely any action, and Fred's usual grumpiness running abundantly throughout, this book has its random charming moments, several attempts at humor, and one very brief sex scene.
My advice: read at your own risk. I only read it because it was about a mermaid.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Upcoming Mermaid Book Releases!

When Adrianne comes face-to-face with the mermaid of Windwaithe Island, of whom she has heard terrible stories all her life, she is convinced the mermaid means to take her younger sister. Adrianne, fierce-willed and courageous, is determined to protect her sister from the mermaid, and her family from starvation. However, the mermaid continues to haunt Adrianne in her dreams and with her song.
Yet, when the islanders find out about Adrianne's encounters with the mermaid she is scorned, for this small and superstitious community believes the mermaid will bring devastation to the island if Adrianne does not give herself to the sea.
A powerful and lyrical story of one girl who must choose between having everything and having those she loves.
This book will be released on July 1st, 2010. If an ARC fell into my hands before them, I would probably faint! I have been waiting for this book for months! The mermaid on the cover of the book is beautiful, but not nearly half as beautiful as how the book's author, Sheila A. Nielson, visualizes her. Ms. Nielson has drawn pictures of the mermaid and several other characters (as well as made a doll of the mermaid, too!) that are displayed on her blog. I already know her novel will probably be one of my favorite mermaid books!

Lena has lived her whole life on the beach - walking for miles up and down the shore and breathing the salty air, swimming in the cold water, and watching the surfers rule the waves - the problem is, she's spent her whole life just watching.
As her sixteenth birthday approaches, Lena vows she will no longer watch from the sand: she will learn to surf.
But her father - a former surfer himself - refuses to allow her to take lessons. After a near drowning in his past, he can't bear to let Lena take up the risky sport.
Yet something lures Lena to the ancient, powerful magic. One morning Lena catches sight of this magic: a beautiful woman - with a silvery tail.
Nothing will keep Lena from seeking the mermaid, not even the dangerous waves at Magic Crescent Cove.
And soon...what she sees in the mermaid's mirror will change her life...
This is another book I have been wanting to read, concerning mermaids. I contacted the publisher, and they will be sending me an ARC that I will review on this blog! I am so happy! I recently read a review of this book and heard about some of the descriptions of the merworld, and now I'm eager to read more! This book will be released on October 4th, 2010.

I think this book is about mermaids, too, according to some other reviews I've read on it. It sounds like it, and I really hope I get to read this, too. There's been all kinds of ARC giveaways for it, but I always lose! Anyway, here's the synopsis of the book:

Seventeen-year-old Vanessa Sands is afraid of everything - the dark, heights, the ocean - but her fearless older sister, Justine, has always been there to coach her through every challenge. That is until Justine goes cliff diving one night near the family's vacation house in Winter Harbor, Maine, and her lifeless body washes up on shore the next day.
Vanessa's parents want to work through the tragedy by returning to their everyday lives back in Boston, but Vanessa can't help feeling that her sister's death was more than an accident. After discovering her sister never applied to colleges, and that she was secretly in a relationship with longtime family friend Caleb Carmichael, Vanessa returns to Winter Harbor to seek some answers.
But when Vanessa learns that Caleb has been missing since Justine's death, she and Caleb's older brother, Simon, join forces to try to find him, and in the process, their childhood friendship blossoms into something more.
Soon it's not just Vanessa who is afraid. All of Winter Harbor is abuzz with anxiety when another body washes ashore, and panic sets in when the small town becomes home to a string of fatal, water-related which all the victims are found grinning from ear to ear.
As Vanessa and Simon probe further into the connections between Justine's death and the sudden rash of creepy drownings, Vanessa uncovers a secret that threatens her new romance, and that will change her life forever.

This book will be released on July 13, 2010, and I can't wait to read it!

Book Review #3: Aquamarine by Alice Hoffman

Hailey and Claire are spending their last summer together when they discover something at the bottom of the murky pool at the Capri Beach Club. There in the depths is a mysterious and beautiful creature with a sharp tongue and a broken heart: a mermaid named Aquamarine who has left her six sisters to search for love on land. Now, as this mythological yet very real being starts to fade in the burning August sun, a rescue is begun.

On the edge of growing up, during a summer that is the hottest on record, Hailey and Claire are discovering that life on land can take an unpredictable course, friendship is forever, and magic can be found in the most unexpected places.

I believe this is the first mermaid novel I have ever read. Or, really, it is more of a novella, since it only has 112 pages. I have seen the movie that came out in 2005 and was based upon the book, but it was completely different. That was a shame, because it took away some of the magical qualities in the novel.

This book is basically the story of two best friends, Hailey and Claire, who are about to be separated at the end of summer. Claire and her grandparents are moving to Florida, which both girls aren't happy about. They find one morning, after a terrible storm one night, a mermaid lurking in the swimming pool of the Capri Beach Club. Her name is Aquamarine, and she has fallen in love with Raymond, an employee at the Capri. The two girls try to help Aquamarine, but they soon realize she is fading away in the chlorinated water, and if she is not returned to the sea in seven days, she will die.

That's pretty much it. Like I said, it's a short book. I give it 5 out of 5 seashells, because what it lacks in page length, it makes up for in magic. There's just something about the book, its prose, the shades of blue that color the pages throughout, or the story itself, that makes you truly believe in friendship, true love, and most importantly, mermaids.

Book Review #2: Teenage Mermaid by Ellen Schreiber

Spencer almost drowns in a surfing accident when a sparkling, golden girl saves him with a kiss of life before she suddenly disappears. Where did this dream girl come from, and will she return?

Lilly rescues a boy from nearly drowning and dangerously steps out of her own watery world. Curious to explore this forbidden land, she's gotta find her handsome Earthdude.

A silver heart locket is their only clue.

Ellen Schreiber revamps a classic favorite with a funky magical romance that shows what transpires when boy meets girl, but discovers girl is really a...

I first read this novel at around the same time I read Sirena (about four years ago), and I recently purchased it through It's getting difficult to find in decent condition at a low price, so it's better just to buy it used.

Teenage Mermaid is the story of fifteen-year-old Spencer Stone. While surfing early one morning, he almost drowns but is rescued (and kissed) by a "sparkling, golden girl." In the struggle he pulls a heart-shaped locket off her neck, and it crosses his mind that he might have been saved by a...mermaid.

Waterlilly, or "Lilly," for short, lives in the underwater community of Pacific Reefs. Unlike the other merpeople, Lilly is bored with life under the sea. When she loses her family heirloom, the heart necklace, she must convince her mermaid best friend Waverly to help her become human and go ashore to get it - as well as meet the boy she rescued.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 seashells. This novel was a humorous, modern-day twist on The Little Mermaid, and it's a fairly short read at only 160 pages. While the romance isn't very realistic (for example, Spencer grows obsessed with Lilly and believes he's truly in love with her even though the period of the novel takes place over two days), it was still a fast, lighthearted read that ends with a magical twist only a true fairy tale could ever pull off.

Book Review #1: Sirena by Donna Jo Napoli

Sirena is cursed. She will not become immortal unless she is loved by a human man. The siren song she sings with her mermaid sisters makes men adore her - yet it leads them to their deaths.
That is why she hides when she finds an adandoned young soldier. He wants to know her, though she should not let him near her or allow him to hear her sing. But how can she fight a love she has been waiting for all her life - a love that will make her live forever?
Since I have always had a major fetish for mermaids, the first review I will be doing is on Sirena by Donna Jo Napoli. I think this book is out of print, so you might have to buy a used copy on (That's what I did.)

Sirena is a retelling of the Greek myth about sirens. Napoli imagines the sirens as ten mermaid sisters who are cursed: they cannot receive immortality unless a mortal man falls in love with them. Luring sailors to their island with their songs, the mermaids usually fail, since their songs often result in death. Those who live see the mermaids as half-fish, half-woman monsters.

I won't give away too much, but let's just say tragedy strikes the mermaid sisters, which results in Sirena swimming away to live by herself in the waters around the island of Lemnos. There she finds a handsome Greek soldier named Philoctetes who is abandoned by his crew because of his festering snakebite wound. Sirena tends to him while he lies unconscious due to the infection, and she becomes infatuated with this human man.
Sirena soon finds herself in a situation that results in her having to use her siren song, which causes bad things to happen between her and Philoctetes. Does he really love her, or is it only because of the magical influence he is under? Sirena's story is one of love and loss, immortality and sacrifice.
I gave this book 5 out of 5 seashells. I read this novel four years ago when in the sixth grade. Ever since then, I have still been mesmerized by it. The cover, too, is extraordinarily beautiful, and I found myself distracted by it while trying to read. I wanted to savor every page of this glorious novel; so much, in fact, that sometimes I would read only a page, then quit because I never wanted it to end. But, after two weeks, I knew it was time to stop savoring and just finish it already! At 226 pages, it is a short read, which was the only disappointment. I wanted more! I loved, loved, loved this book - all the way up to its bittersweet and tearjerking ending, one of the saddest endings to a book I have ever read. Sirena describes her ocean world with such beauty, and I couldn't help but wish I could be part of it.
Everything about this book (from its lyrical prose, to its sad ending, even its beautiful cover) was absolutely perfect!

How I Rate Books

Because the blog is called "Mermaid Books," and because I am so crazy-obsessed with the ocean, I will rate books by what I call "seashells." Let me explain...
5 out of 5 seashells: The book was great. I totally loved it.
4 out of 5 seashells: I liked it. Could have been better.
3 out of 5 seashells: Meh.
2 out of 5 seashells: Not the best fish in the sea.
1 out of 5 seashells: Do I really have to say anything?
So, there you have it. That's how I'll rate any books on this blog.
WARNING: I tend to make some books sound greater than they actually are.

Hello, Fellow Book Lovers!

This is my first post! Basically, I'll be talking about what I'm hoping to accomplish on this blog. First off, it's mainly a place for book reviews and news on upcoming releases that interest me. I love reading, particularly books that contain mermaids. (Unfortunately, there's not a lot of those out there.) Sometimes, I'll include information related to my other interests, which include writing, ocean life, vampires, and paleontology. Expect my first book review to come soon!